Club History


Club History

Our Club was formed as North Rocks Girls Basketball Club at the end of 1969 by a group of mothers concerned that there was no organised sport for girls in the area.  The Club opened a bank account with $3.40 in it, added a $50.00 donation from the Progress Association and registration fees were $2.50, with weekly game fees of .50 cents.

Our teams first played in 1970, with 7 junior teams and 1 senior team, in the Hills District Association.  Uniforms were very short, belted orange box pleated tunics with white blouses and orange bloomers.  In 1971, the Club entered 12 teams, 15 in 1972, rising to 53 by the early1980s.  We helped establish Baulkham Hills Shire Netball Association at the end of 1974 and from 1975, sent teams to both Associations.

A significant part of our history is the establishment of a midweek competition for women, the brainchild of the then President, Gwen Walker.  This began in 1976, with 23 teams with members from as far away as Engadine competing on the two courts at North Rocks Park during the day on Wednesdays.  It was the first competition of its kind in NSW and its importance to netball was recognised when the President of NSW Netball, Ann Clarke, came to umpire two semi-final matches.  As more mothers took up paid work, the competitin changed to a night competition, growing to 128 teams playing over 4 timeslots and two nights.

Over the years, our club has been shaped by many other events and people to become what we have today.  Some events that come to mind are the formation of the Softball Club, the break-away of Carlingford Netball Club, the shift to the courts at Tiernan Avenue, the fire in the building and the Orange Blossom processions.  There have also been many contributions from people who have held positions in the Club and on the committees of both Associations, umpires, players, coaches, managers and families.

Club Honour Board

North Rocks Netball Club Life Members

  • Marie Bradshaw
  • Marie Smith
  • Glenys Goswell
  • Meg Searle
  • Pam Johnson
  • Bev Mann
  • Fay Briscoe
  • Gwen Walker
  • Jan Bein
  • Bob Cousins
  • Jenny Pike
  • Margaret Wigmore
  • Chris Mcrae
  • Dean Newman
  • Mandy Turvey
  • David Gardiner
  • Simone Gaston 
  • Roslyn Miller

North Rocks Netball Club Presidents

  • 1969 - 1970   Helen Jenkins
  • 1971 - 1985   Gwen Walker
  • 1986 - 1987   Richard Mumberson
  • 1988 - 1989   Pam Johnson
  • 1990 - 2015   Gwen Walker
  • 2016 - 2017   Jenny Pike
  • 2018 -            Simone Gaston

The Club awards perpetual trophies each year, as follows:

  • Don Moore Trophy
  • Scougall Trophy
  • Walker Trophy
  • Progress Association Trophy
  • Jill Reardon Spirit of Umpiring Trophy
  • Endeavour Cup